RepositoryScottish Catholic Archives
TitleDiocese of Aberdeen
Date1878 to 2000
DescriptionThe Diocese of Aberdeen Comprising of the City of Aberdeen; Aberdeenshire; Highland (except the Parish of Kingussie, the former district of Lachaber and the Isle of Skye); Moray; Orkney Islands; Shetland Islands. The early twelth century ecclesiastical centre at Mortlach, Banffshire, is traditionally the original site of the bishopric of Aberdeen. Certainly it did not originate at Aberdeen but was transferred there by David I under its fouth bishop, Nechtan, before 1131/1132. It became a suffragan of St Andrews in 1472. It was vacant from the death of William Gordon (1546-1577) until the restoration of the hierarch in 1878.
Admin_HistoryThe diocesan Curi is located at
St Mary's House,
14 Chanonry
Old Aberdeen,
AB24 1RP
AccessConditionsOpen for consultation, some sections closed as they hold personal data subject to the Data Protection Act

    Copyright ©